Overview
Client Notifications through Boulevard Messages empower your business to reduce no-shows, engage clients, and keep clients informed through every step of their journey with automated email and text notifications.
The Client Notifications section is found at the location level under Manage > Client Notifications. The following permissions are required for users to manage communication preferences:
Business Setup > Business Settings > Manage location details
Business Setup > Client Experience > Manage client notification settings
A dedicated phone number is required to set up notification texts for your location, and usage rates apply. Client notifications sent via text will count towards usage rates.
Appointment notifications
Select Appointments to set up or customize your client's automated email and text notifications.
Note: If Buy Now, Pay Later is enabled on your account, confirmation and reminder notifications for eligible appointments will automatically include a BNPL pre-qualification link for Affirm and Klarna.
Notification Type | Description | Customization Options |
Booking confirmation (email & text) | Sent immediately after the appointment is booked by the client or by the business. Can be sent by email and/or text.
Check out the Booking Confirmation FAQ for commonly asked questions and answers. |
|
(email) | Sent at approximately 9 am (PST), 2 days before the appointment day (unless adjusted in your Client Notification settings). Can be sent by email and/or text. |
|
(text) | Sent at approximately 2 pm (PST). Default settings send 2 days before the appointment day if the appointment has not already been confirmed. This can be adjusted in your settings from 1-5 days before the appointment. |
|
Same-day reminder (text) | Same-day reminders send by text to both confirmed and unconfirmed clients who have an appointment that day. The timing for when same-day reminders are sent is set by the business through the client notifications settings.
Check out the Same Day Reminder FAQ for commonly asked questions and answers. |
|
(email & text) | Order receipts send to clients via text and/or email after a completed purchase. |
|
(email & text) | Rating requests send clients a prompt to complete an appointment review after checkout. Can be sent between 1h and 1wk after appointment checkout. |
|
Auto-response texts (after-hours)
Select Auto-responses to set up automated after-hours texts. These are sent as responses when clients send texts outside of your location's business hours.
After-hours response (text) | After-hours responses send automatically when clients text your dedicated phone number outside of your location's set business hours. Clients won't receive more than 1 after-hours response in a 12 hour window. |
Client instructions
Select Client Instructions to add custom messaging in your booking confirmation email, 2-day appointment reminder email, and the client-facing appointment details page.
A customized message included in booking confirmation and reminder emails. You can also include your business phone number in the Client Instructions field, which will appear in booking confirmation emails. |
Other Client Notifications
Cancellation Email
If an appointment is canceled, the client will receive an email notification. When canceling an appointment internally, you have the option to send a cancellation notification. To enable the notification, select the send cancellation notification email to client box.
Failed Membership Payment
Clients are emailed when a membership payment can't be processed and prompted to update the credit card on file. Once the payment method is updated, Boulevard immediately charges the most recent outstanding fee. If the client has additional outstanding fees, Boulevard continues to charge one term per day until all terms are up to date.
Clients are emailed after every failed attempt, so each retry is another opportunity to prompt a card update. The wording and subject line change from email to email so the messages don't read as duplicates.
If the decline is terminal — meaning the card can never be charged again, such as an invalid card — Boulevard doesn't retry the payment. The client receives a different sequence of emails asking them to add a different card, since re-entering the same one won't work.
NOTE: The client is emailed on each failed renewal attempt. Automated notifications are not sent if the client does not have a credit card saved to the client profile.







