All Collections
Boulevard Dashboard
Managing Staff
Logging Out, Removing, and Deactivating Users
Logging Out, Removing, and Deactivating Users

How to log out, remove or deactivate users in the Boulevard dashboard.

Will Patterson avatar
Written by Will Patterson
Updated this week

Overview

An account administrator can log out any employee from all devices. This is most commonly needed when a staff member is no longer an employee of the business, or if an employee’s device is lost or stolen.

To log out an employee, navigate to the Staff or Employees section, select the staff member, and log them out.

Screenshot 2022-08-11 at 21.41.55.png

You can then proceed to block, deactivate or remove their account.

When users are no longer at a business, there are 2 options to consider when removing them, depending on what should remain in Boulevard after removal:

  1. Block Access: The individual will no longer have access to Boulevard but their future appointments (if applicable) will stay visible on the Calendar. Use this option when the individual has future appointments that need to be manually canceled or reassigned.

  2. Deactivate the User: The individual will no longer have access to Boulevard and their future appointments (if applicable) will be hidden from the Calendar but not deleted. Use this option when the individual has no future appointments to cancel or reassign.

IMPORTANT: Under no circumstances will future appointments be automatically canceled.

For added security, when you deactivate a user, Boulevard will automatically log that user out of all of their sessions.

OPTION 1: Block Access

To block access, re-assign the user to a Privilege Group with limited/no privileges. Once assigned to this new Privileges Group, the employee no longer has access to Boulevard, however for service-performing staff, their current and future appointments stay on the Calendar.

  1. Create a new Privileges Group such as "No Access" which does not have any privileges

  2. Go into the user's Staff Profile and assign them to that Privilege Group

OPTION 2: Deactivate the User

When a user is either deleted or unassigned from a location, he or she is made inactive and no longer has sign-in access to Boulevard. For service-performing staff, their current and future appointments are hidden from the Calendar, but not deleted.

  1. From the Main Business Settings: Go to Employees, select the employee, and click Deactivate at the bottom of the screen. The employee is moved to Inactive (shown at the main business level) and they are no longer able to login to Boulevard.

    OR

  2. From the Location Settings: Go to the location Manage > Staff then select the employee, uncheck the location to which they are assigned, and click Save. Once an employee is no longer assigned to any locations, they are moved to Inactive (shown at the main business level) and they are no longer able to login to Boulevard.

check3.gif

Viewing Future Appointments

To easily view a list of a Service Provider's future appointments at a particular location, use the Staff Schedule report.

  1. Head to Reports > Staff Schedule.

  2. Filter by only the Service Provider.

  3. Set the first date in the range to today and the last date in the range far into the future.

  4. Download the report as a PDF to view or print.

Alternatively, booked future appointments can be viewed on the Calendar by filtering only the Service Provider, choosing the week view, then viewing week by week.

Reactivate the User

To reinstate access to a user, from the main business settings, locate your:

Gear Icon > Employees

  1. Select the All Employees drop-down and adjust to Inactive.

  2. Locate the employee you are looking to reactivate.

  3. Select Restore on the bottom left-hand corner of the staff profile.

Automatic Logout

To keep client data secure, we recommend that admins adjust the automatic logout settings to ensure that all users are logged out after a period of inactivity. For HIPAA-covered businesses that store client health information, Boulevard recommends setting the automatic logout to 15 minutes or less. See more about the automatic logout feature here.

Did this answer your question?