Overview
Beauty and wellness businesses are a prime target for cybercriminals because of the valuable payments and client data that they possess. Boulevard helps protect your business by requiring your staff to authenticate often, reducing the chances of unauthorized access to your account.
Session Duration Default & Settings
All Boulevard businesses have a maximum session duration, after which all staff are required to log back in, regardless of activity:
Dashboard: every evening at midnight local time
Pro App: every Sunday evening at midnight local time
If you’d like to shorten your business session duration so your staff need to authenticate more frequently than the settings above, head to Manage Business > Security. Staff with the “Manage employee login” permission can adjust.
Logout due to inactivity
An account administrator can set a time limit to automatically logout staff from the dashboard after a period of inactivity. This aligns with best practices for keeping client data secure.
You can adjust this timeframe to suit your business needs. To make adjustments:
Locate the Manage Business tab (gear icon) > Security tab > Dashboard Inactivity Timeout.
Use the dropdown menu to select the preferred duration for login expiration on your Boulevard dashboard.
You can set separate session expirations for mobile and web
Note: This will reflect across all locations.
HIPAA-covered Businesses
For HIPAA-covered businesses that store client health information, Boulevard recommends setting the automatic logout to 15 minutes or less. To learn more about using Boulevard in alignment with HIPAA best practices, check out our HIPAA Security Requirements setup guidance.
