Overview

Every Boulevard user is assigned to a Privilege Group, which determines what the user is able to do in Boulevard. Each preset Privilege Group is made up of specific privileges that are either enabled or disabled for that Privilege Group. The default 'Admin' Privilege Group has all active privileges, while traditionally other Privilege Groups have less privileges.

Adding a New Privilege Group

  1. From Business Settings (

    gearicon.png

    ), click Privilege Groups then New Privilege Group

    img20190418120632.png
  2. Name the group, give it a brief description, and click Create Privilege Group

    img20190418120749.png
  3. Scroll down through the list on the right and enable privileges by clicking the toggle switch. See below Privilege Settings Glossary for details on each privilege.

  4. When all privileges are correctly enabled, click Save at the top right

Assigning or Changing Privilege Groups

A user's Privilege Group is assigned when the user is first added. If needed, their assigned Privilege Group can be changed in their Staff Profile. Simply select the desired Privilege Group, then Save Changes.

Deleting a Privilege Group

To remove a Privilege Group, click the individual name of the Privilege Group and then Delete to the right of that window. CAUTION: If users are still assigned to a Privilege Group that gets deleted, those users will be reassigned to the 'Admin' Privilege Group role and have full privileges.

Privilege Settings Glossary

ACCESS

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

Web app

Log into the Boulevard web app

  • Necessary for ALL staff members

Mobile app

Log into Boulevard Professional mobile app

  • Necessary for professionals

Front desk

Access the Front Desk page

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Purchase orders

View and manage inventory purchase orders

  • Requires access to "Location Manager" privilege (see below)

  • Necessary for location manager

Mailchimp Email Marketing

View and manage Mailchimp campaigns

  • Requires access to "View Client List" privilege (see below)

  • Necessary for location manager

ADMINISTRATION

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

Business Manager

Access to all main business settings (gear icon)

Location Manager

Edit individual location details, staff, products, ratings, and 'Other' payment types

  • Necessary for location manager

Manage Schedule

Allow access to manage staff schedules

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Edit Services

View and edit services performed at a location

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Necessary for professionals

View Sales

View Orders, Payments, Register

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Edit Sales

Change orders and process refunds

  • Must also have access to View Sales

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Void Orders

Process voids on completed orders

  • Must also have access to View Sales

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Deactivate Gift Card

Deactivate physical gift cards so they can be reused

  • Necessary for location manager

Edit Gift Card Balance

Add or remove vouchers or value from a gift card

  • Necessary for location manager

Grant vouchers

Add vouchers to a client's balance without an order

  • Necessary for location manager

View reports for all locations

View, download, and send reports that include data across all locations

View reports for assigned locations

View, download, and send reports that include data only for employee's assigned locations

  • Necessary for location manager

View commission reports

View commission reports in Classic Reports

  • Necessary for location manager

Payment Processing

Allow access to merchant details for assigned location

APPOINTMENTS

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

View all availability

View busy status of other service providers

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

View all appointments

View appointment details of other service providers

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Modify all appointments

Edit appointments of other service providers

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Create all appointments

Create appointments for other service providers

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Modify own appointments

Edit the service provider's own appointments

  • Necessary for professionals

Create own appointments

Create appointments for the staff member

  • Necessary for professionals

Adjust appointment service price

Allow price adjustments for services when editing an appointment

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Checkout appointments

Apply payment, sell products, edit, and checkout appointments

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

CHECKOUT

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

Other Payment Method

Allow checkout with 'Other' as payment method

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

Adjust Price

Allow price adjustment for service and products

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

CLIENTS

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

View client list

View client first and last names

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

View client contact information

View and edit client contact information, tags, and personal information

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals

Hide client's last name on mobile and in notifications

Prevent staff members from seeing the client's last name on the Boulevard Professional mobile app

Export client list

Export the list of clients

  • ONLY admin individuals should have this privilege

Merge client profiles

Allow staff to merge client profiles

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

MESSAGES

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

View Messages

Ability to read messages (paid add-on) from clients

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Send Messages

Ability to send messages to clients

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

STAFF

Privilege Setting

Description

Notes

Clock others in/out

Clock others in/out

  • Recommended for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Edit timecards

Edit in and out times on historical timecards

  • Recommended for location manager

Mobile App Reports

View individual performance metrics

  • Recommended for professionals

Edit Calendar View

Edit order of staff on calendar view

  • Necessary for front desk staff

  • Necessary for location manager

Set Timeblock

Create and edit Timeblocks on thee Calendar

  • Recommended for location manager

  • Recommended for professionals to manage their schedule

Notification Preferences

Allow staff to customize their notification preferences

  • Recommended for professionals

Did this answer your question?