There are 4 independent blocks of time that can apply to a service: Duration, Processing Time, Finishing Time, and Transition Time.
Duration: This is the primary duration for a service, the initial block of time where the client is with the professional. The professional cannot be booked during this time.
Processing Time: This block of time immediately follows Duration. Processing Time is allotted time when the client is unavailable but the professional is available. This option is mostly used with hair color processing when the client is waiting for the color to process and the colorist is available to work on other clients. Processing Time is bookable time. Unless double booking is disabled, clients booking online have the option to self-book during Processing Time, but only if their desired service fits within the allotted Processing Time.
Finishing Time: This block of time immediately follows Processing Time. Finishing Time is allotted time when the client is once again back with the same professional. This option is mostly used with blow-drys or treatments immediately after the client has been processed. The professional cannot be booked during this time.
Transition Time: This block of time immediately follows either Duration or Finishing Time. Transition Time is allotted time when the service has been completed, but the professional is unavailable. This is often referred to as break time, cleanup time, documentation time, or any reason why the professional would want some time or a 'cushion' after the appointment. The professional cannot be booked during this time.
To maximize profits, Boulevard by default allows staff members to be booked during processing time. Businesses can disable this feature by toggling Double Booking. If disabled, customers are not able to book appointments that fall within the processing times of other appointments. This setting can be added or adjusted in the Service Details for each service.
Before disabling Processing Time, Finishing Time, and/or Transition Time at the location level, you must remove any pre-existing times for each service. Simply disabling the feature does not remove it from being added to future appointments.
Additionally, if you have disabled Processing Time, Finishing Time, and/or Transition Time at the location level, but are still seeing it with new appointments on the calendar head to the Manage Location page and enable the feature. Then go to the service that it's listed on and reset the time to 0h 0m before returning to the Manage Location page and disabling again.