Skip to main content
Canceling Appointments

Steps on how to cancel appointments and track client appointment history.

Will Patterson avatar
Written by Will Patterson
Updated over a week ago

Overview

Customers can cancel their own appointments using a link in their confirmation email and reminder email. Customers are prevented from canceling their own appointments less than 24 hours in advance.

Businesses can cancel or delete appointments at any time, with the option to enforce no-show or late cancellation fees. Learn more about setting custom cancellation fees here. Recently canceled appointments appear in the Cancelled Appointments List and can easily be restored if canceled in error.

To enable email cancellation notifications, navigate to your Manage Location settings > Details tab > Location Features.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-08_at_10.17.34_PM_copy.png

Canceling an Appointment

  1. Click on the specific appointment preview on the calendar.

  2. Select the red X button on the bottom left of the window.
    โ€‹

    Screen_Shot_2021-04-13_at_5.55.25_PM.png

  3. Select a reason for the cancellation from 5 different options (see table below).

  4. Optional: Enter a reason and/or check the box to charge a cancellation fee. You're also able to deselect "Client" if you don't want a cancellation notification email sent.
    โ€‹

    Screen_Shot_2021-04-08_at_10.18.45_PM.png

  5. Click Cancel Appointment.

Mistake or error

The client is not charged and deletes the appointment from the calendar

Staff canceled

The client is not charged and deletes the appointment from the calendar.

Client canceled

The client is not charged and deletes the appointment from the calendar.

Client late canceled

Option to charge the client a fee and delete the appointment from the calendar.

Client did not show up

Option to charge the client a fee and delete the appointment from the calendar.

IMPORTANT: A client is never charged a cancellation fee unless you specifically choose to charge them. If you charge a cancellation fee, they receive both a cancellation confirmation email and a receipt email for the cancellation fee.

late_cancel.gif

A canceled appointment that was not a late cancellation or no-show is removed from the calendar and its time slot becomes available for booking. Recently canceled appointments appear in the Cancelled Appointments List and can easily be restored if the cancellation was done in error.

Tracking Client Appointment History

Appointment edits and history can be viewed by selecting the edit appointment and viewing the appointment edit history on the left hand of the details page.

Canceled and completed appointment history can be tracked in the client profile under the history tab.

Cancellation Email

Screen_Shot_2021-04-12_at_3.03.45_PM.png

Commission on Late Cancellations and No Shows

If you charge clients for late cancellations or no-shows based on your business's policy, by default the professional who is assigned to the services receives their regular commission percentage on the amount you charge the client.

We understand that businesses have varying policies for their staff which may include not paying a commission on a cancellation or no-show charge. A workaround for this is to create a product called "Cancellation Charge", cancel the client's appointment without charging, and then charge the client for this "product" via a new sale and do not assign the product to a seller. This way the business can still collect funds from the client but they will not be allocated to any particular service provider.

Please reach out to support via help chat or support@blvd.co if you need assistance.

NOTE: If a client responds to a reminder text that they wish to cancel their appointment but includes any form of affirmation including y, ya, yas, ye, yep, yes, yu, yus, yuss, yass, yess, yep, yup, sure, sure thing, see you, see you then, excited, so excited, confirm, in their response it triggers an appointment confirmation.

Did this answer your question?